Summer of Bustier Tops

This season is all about bustier tops. The term “bustier” has taken on a completely new meaning, from something more risque than fashion forward, to a totally wearable wardrobe essential for this summer. Not only do these tops make the “girls” (ehem) look great, but their tight nature also helps suck you in a bit and creates smoother lines. This may not be the best trend to rock at an event where lots of beer and food is going to be consumed, but we all suffer a little for fashion sometimes, right?

Here are some of my favorite looks:

I am really into pairing a bustier top with high waisted denim shorts. I adore wearing grunge with a feminine twist, so you can bet this will be one of my go-to outfits this summer.

A more traditional bustier top can be played down by adding modern, on-trend additions. These tribal print, high waisted shorts give the outfit a fashion forward flare, while still covering the belly area to keep the look chic rather than promiscuous.

I know, I know. This Mara Hoffman bustier top is to die for. Despite it’s teensy size, it’s possible to keep this look high fashion by simply being mindful of proportions. If you have very little on top, add more on the bottom. That’s why a maxi is the perfect addition.

Last but not least – a full skirted bustier dress is another great way to play with proportions. I find this look to be particularly flattering on my body type, because I’m bigger on top than on bottom. The fitted top creates a clean shape, while the full skirt gives the illusion that I have more of an hourglass figure than I actually do. This shape is also great for girls who lack curves, or have more of an athletic build.

xoxo

7 thoughts on “Summer of Bustier Tops

  1. OK, the tops are nice but the shorts look a little “bridge and tunnel crowd” – if you know what I mean. This isn’t a dig on the NJ (I was from Weehawken so I know of what I speak) but the shorts … no so much. The rest is awesome. Regarding your height (I saw it on the “about” page don’t freak out) not an issue … the red platforms should take care of that strait away. All the best. Cheers
    Oh, quick question – do you ever have a hard time getting specific fashion items that you know exist but can’t find in your area or is that not a problem in the fashion world?

  2. hey, to each her/his own. i personally like the shorts, and think they’re a great way to keep the looks casual while still making sure your belly is covered – but there are other options if your not a fan. perhaps a high waisted skirt is more your thing? I wouldn’t suggest something skin tight, just to keep it classy. and to answer your question, i do sometimes. it can be hard when a shopper has a specific vision in mind and travels to store after store with no luck finding what their looking for. however, i have a ton of online resources, so if there is something in particular that you are looking for i would be more than happy to share some great sites with you!

  3. You know, I am not sure where to get those EXACT shorts (I spent some time looking for them). I know Forever 21 makes similar styles. Along with that, I would check out tobi.com, nastygal.com, and the brand Audrey 3+1 for the same high-waisted, patterned look. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

